Application Period 2008-2012

Since the establishment of the SPP "Antarctic Research" in 1981, it has been basically divided into the sub-areas of physics, biology and geosciences. This division corresponds to the structure of the "Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research", which includes corresponding "Standing Scientific Groups".

This structure has proved its worth for the DFG Priority Programme 1158. However, it does not adequately address the increasing need for interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary research. For this reason, more attention should be paid in the funding period 2008-2012 to subject-specific and interdisciplinary topics that are of great importance for a better understanding of the complex role of polar regions in the global climate system.

The figure on the right shows which discipline-specific and interdisciplinary topic areas in the DFG Priority Programme 1158 in the period from 2008 to 2012 will be given priority and how these interlock.